Your Video Guide to Gaming Excitement!

Sports betting growth ahead of March Madness

9 March 2023

Some states have regulated the practice, others are in the process of legalizing it, some have no chance of getting it, and then there are three states that can’t seem to get out of their own way when the topic of sports wagering comes up.

It’s been about five years since the Supreme Court overturned the Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (PASPA) and while the US has come along way since the days of only having sports wagering in one state there is a lot of states in flux.

To date there are 36 states that have regulated sports betting; however, that does not mean that the act is underway yet in those states. Currently this list is comprised of Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
The following eight states have hope of legalizing sports wagering in the near future. These states include Georgia, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, and Vermont.
At this time, Alabama, Alaska, Idaho and Utah are show no signs of allowing betting on sports.

And, then there are Florida, California and Hawaii. The first two on this list are too busy with political infighting to get to a point that’s needed to pass any form of sports wagering. Hawaii is taking it a step further as not only does it not want its residents to bet on sports, but it also doesn’t want Hawaiians to see sports wagering on its airwaves, and it’s considering a 30% tax on its citizens who buy vacation packages to gambling destinations, basically fining them for visiting Las Vegas.